Blog

Share this Post:

Over the past few weeks Windows 10 users have reported being “tricked” by the latest Windows 10 upgrade. They have reported that by clicking the red “x” at the top of the update screen, which to most would signal it has been canceled, Windows is apparently starting the update.

Well, it turns out that’s exactly what Microsoft planned. They treated this click as the user’s acceptance and agreement to install Windows 10. This has caused so many problems to unprepared users and their systems and lead users to feel as though they had been manipulated by Microsoft’s newest aggressive update method.

According to Microsoft they have installed another update to offer users another opportunity to opt out, but evidence of this has not been confirmed.

Microsoft also admitted to modifying their Windows 10 reminder, and most recently said that they introduced another layer of notifications to confirm the time of the scheduled upgrade and provide the customer with multiple opportunities to cancel or reschedule the upgrade. In other words, they will no longer interpret the user clicking “close” as an agreement.

While this is inconvenient and misleading, the worst part about an unwanted upgrade is that users are unable to use their device until the update is complete as Microsoft updates can be dangerous to cancel midway through.

While many users have come across this problem, many others have walked in to find their computer already in the middle of an upgrade with no way to stop it.

So we’ve compiled a list of what to do in case your Windows installer decides to do its own thing, or you have unwillingly given consent to upgrade.

 

Don’t try to stop the upgrade

Even if upgrading is the last thing you want to do, and could cause an issue for all of your data and other software. Trying to cancel the upgrade midstream could cause even bigger issues.

 

Wait it Out

Okay, hear us out on this. At we mentioned before, stopping the upgrade can have detrimental effects, but it can also complicate restore efforts when you have the opportunity to revert back to Windows 7 or 8.1.

After the update is complete you will have a chance to save your computer from the update. After the upgrade has run its course you will be prompted to accept the Windows 10 terms and conditions. Say no. This is important so make sure you’re paying attention to pop-ups throughout the upgrade.

Once you decline, Microsoft with confirm that you do indeed want to decline. Confirm your intentions and then get ready to wait a while more while Microsoft “attempts” to revert back to your previous operating system.

While this might feel a bit like trial and error – and it kind of is – it’s really your only choice if you don’t want Windows 10.

 

Preemptive Strikes

You do also have the option to take a proactive stance to make sure this doesn’t happen again. You can take advantage of Never 10 or GWX Control Panel as a preventative measure against any further updates that may have been automatically installed on your computer.